NPP primaries: Party’s Presidential Elections C’ttee rejects   Apraku’s forms

Story: News Desk

One of the presidential aspirants in the New Patriotic Party’s presidential race, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku was unable to file his nomination forms today.

This was after his documents were found to be incomplete.

Early, the NPP stalwart had attempted to submit his forms to the Presidential Elections Committee of the party at its headquarters at Asylum Down in Accra but was asked to go and rectify some anomalies and return.

Speaking to the media after the engagement with the committee, Kwame Obiri Nkansah who is the Director of Communications for the campaign team of Dr. Konadu Apraku explained that the CV of the aspirant and details of his personal contribution to the party were not part of the documents submitted.

“The process is a simple one. We left something out and the Chairman of the committee has asked us to add it. They are asking for his personal contribution to the party, and his CV. We thought that one was not necessary because everybody knew what he has done but that is the request so we want to go and add those things.

“Hopefully, by Friday or Saturday we will be back to file.”

Meanwhile, former Minister for Trade and Industry, Alan Kyerematen, and Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia have both completed the process.

Mr. Kyerematen and Dr. Bawumia submitted their forms last Monday, June 12, 2023, and Friday, June 16, 2023, respectively.

The NPP opened nominations on May 26, 2023, with aspirants given up to June 24 to submit forms.

So far, 10 presidential hopefuls have picked up nomination forms to contest the NPP’s flagbearer slot.

They include: Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, a former Minister of Food and Agriculture, Kennedy Agyapong, the Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Mr Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, the immediate past Minister of Trade and Industry, Kwabena Adjei Agyapong, a former General-Secretary of the Party, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Vice-President of the Republic of Ghana, and Joe Ghartey, the Member of Parliament for Essikadu-Ketan and former Minister of Railway Development.

The rest are Boakye Agyarko, former Minister of Energy, Prof. Addai Nimoh, former MP for Mampong, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, a former Minister of Trade and Industry, and Kwadwo Nsafoa Opoku, an expert in energy and related matters. 

Out of this, only two have submitted their forms.

Related Post

No more posts to show

Post Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *