*Milo names first squad following return

Returnee head coach, Milovan Rajevac has named a provisional list of 32 players for Ghana’s World Cup qualifying game versus Zimbabwe.

The Black Stars will host their Zimbabwean counterparts in Cape Coast before traveling to Zimbabwe to play the return fixture.

Milo, who makes his return after qualifying Ghana to the World Cup and seeing the Black Stars through till the quarter-finals, kept to his word from his unveiling and did not make wholesome changes to the squad.

Just like his first stint, the 67-year-old has called up a mixture of old and new entertaining players to the squad. Amongst debutants in the list include Jojo Wallocott, a goalkeeper from English League Two’s Swindon Town.

24-year-old striker, Benjamin Tetteh on loan at Yeni Malatyaspor also receives a debut invitation to the Black Stars team, after representing the country at the youth level.

Kotoko pair, Danlad Ibrahim and Ismail Ganiyu make a return to the squad. Hearts of Oak skipper, Fatawu Mohammed loses his place.

Arsenal’s Thomas Partey, who missed a place in the squad last time out, returns after being sidelined by injury.

After a year of absence, Alfred Duncan of Fiorentina makes his return to the national team squad.

Daniel Kofi-Kyereh of St. Pauli’s Bundesliga 2, who sparked lots of conversation after making the squad in Akonnor’s last invitations, maintains his place as Braydon Manu loses his place.

Ghana have a double-header against Zimbabwe in the next round of qualifiers in October. The Black Stars will take on the Warriors on Saturday, October 9 at the Cape Coast stadium on match day three of the qualifiers before traveling to Harare three days later for the reverse fixture.

Ghana’s Provisional squad:


Lawrence Ati- Zigi (FC St. Gallen), Richard Atta (Hearts of Oak), Ibrahim Danlad, (Asante Kotoko), Jojo Wallocott (Swindon Town)

Defenders:  Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Andy Yiadom (Reading FC), Ismail Ganiyu (Asante Kotoko), Gideon Mensah (Bordeaux), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg).

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Baba Idrissu (Real Mallorca), Alfred Duncan (Fiorentina), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens), Mubarak Wakaso, (Shenzhen FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Daniel Kof- Kyereh (St. Pauli), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC).

Forwards: Andre Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Kamaldeen Suleymana (Rennes), Tariq Fosu-Henry (Brentford FC), Joel Fameyeh (Orenburg), Yaw Yeboah (Wisła Kraków), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha FC), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Caleb Ekuban (Genoa), Emmanuel Gyasi (Spezia), Benjamin Tetteh (Yeni Malatyaspor)

Related Post

No more posts to show

Post Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *