Parliament okays approval  all six Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees

After hours of disagreements and a brief suspension, Parliament has finally approved President Akufo-Addo’s six ministerial nominees.

Adansi Asokwa MP, Kobina Tahir Hammond has been confirmed to head the Ministry of Trade and Industry, with Dr Stephen Amoah appointed as Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry.

Member of Parliament for Abetifi, Brian Acheampong has been approved as the Minister of Food and Agriculture and the Member of Parliament for Karaga, Mohammed Amin Adam, has been okayed as Minister of State at the Finance Ministry.

Stephen Asamoah Boateng is the new Minister for Religious and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Mr. Osei Bonsu Amoah heads to the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development as Minister of State.

Mr KT Hammond secured 154 yes votes as against 116 NO votes to gain approval from the house. Dr Stephen Amoah received 146 votes against 123 NO votes to pass the approval stage.

Also, Brian Acheampong was approved after receiving 167 YES votes. Meanwhile, Amin Adam secured 152 YES votes while O.B Amoah had 149 YES votes.

The ministers-designate were approved on Friday amid some complaints which saw the sitting suspended for a few hours.
The Majority members feared they might not have the required numbers to approve President Akufo-Addo’s nominees, while the Minority insisted they wanted the voting to proceed and damn the consequences.
During the suspension, the Minority reiterated that they would reject all the ministerial nominees.
Meanwhile, three members of Parliament missed out on the voting process.
The absentee MPs were; MP for Dome Kwabenya Sarah Adwoa Safo (NPP), James Gyakye Quayson MP for Assin North (NDC) and Basoah Phillip MP for Kumawu (NPP).

Related Post

No more posts to show

Post Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *