NPP primaries: Party’s vetting committee clears all 10 presidential aspirants

Story: News Desk  

The Vetting Committee for the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) Presidential Primary has cleared all the 10 aspirants seeking to lead the party into the 2024 polls.

The aspirants are:

  • Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen
  •  Mr. Kwadwo Poku
  •  Mahamudu Bawumia
  • Boakye Kyerematen Agyarko
  • Kwabena Agyei Agyapong
  • Kennedy Ohene Agyapong
  • Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku
  • Dr. Owusu Akoto Afriyie
  • Joe Ghartey
  • Francis Addai-Nimoh

This was announced in a statement signed by Justin Kodua Frimpong, General Secretary of the NPP.

Mr. Kodua in the statement said the Vetting Committee submitted its report to the National Council of the NPP on Monday, July 10, 2023, pursuant to Article 10(3) of the New Patriotic Party’s Constitution.

He said the National Council of the Party is scheduled to deliberate on the Vetting Committee’s recommendations on July 20, 2023.

Per the rules of the game, if more than five aspirants qualify to contest, the party will convene a special electoral college of 900 delegates to select five candidates for the final round.

So far, all 10 aspirants have been cleared for the contest.

This means that, the governing party will in August convene a special delegates conference to select five candidates to contest the November 4, 2023, presidential primary.

Related Post

No more posts to show

Post Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *