Boakye Agyarko withdraws from NPP run-off election

Story: Yaw Takyi

A New Patriotic Party  presidential aspirant, Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko, has formally withdrawn from the upcoming run-off election to determine the 5th aspirant.

His withdrawal comes after NPP announced that its National Council will constitute an electoral college to break the tie between Mr Agyarko and his competitor Francis Addai Nimoh who were both 5th in the just-ended super delegate conference.

In a press release, Mr Ayarko described it as unconstitutional for the National Council to shortlist a few individuals to represent the 955 individuals who participated in the first round.

Citing other legal breaches, Mr Agyarko said the establishment of an electoral college also flouts the party’s constitution.

“It is totally unacceptable to me that such an unconstitutional act can be perpetuated on the altar of expediency. Am I to surmise that the party did not know the cost implication? It is unconscionable that the rules of the game will be changed midstream.

“Rules and regulations that are flip-flopped in such a manner is only detrimental to fair play and justice. It is a clear violation of the party’s constitution and the guidelines for the Special Electoral College. It is an unconstitutional act which | cannot allow myself to be associated with,” portions of his statement read.

It is in view of this that, the former Energy Minister says he cannot in clear conscience partake in an electoral process that unjustly truncates a previously agreed upon process.

“I, therefore, respectfully, serve this notice to refrain from such a contest. As always, I wish the party well.”

On Saturday, August 26, six NPP presidential aspirants sailed through the party’s Super Delegates Conference.

The Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia led with 68.15% (629) of the total votes cast, followed by Kennedy Agyapong who polled 15.03% (132) of the total votes cast.

Alan Kyerematen came in third with 10.29% (95) of the total votes cast, and Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto came fourth with 3.90% (36).

Although the Super Delegates Conference was expected to help select five candidates, two candidates, Francis Addai Nimoh and Boakye Kyeremateng Ayarko, tied for fifth place with nine votes each.

Related Post

No more posts to show

Post Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *