GJA Elects New President

Story: Eunice KENYENSO

Ghana Journalists Association(GJA)  has  elected Albert Kwabena Dwumfour as its   President.
The media consultant and Head of Corporate Affairs at the Tobinco Group of Companies fended off competition from the Editor of the Ghanaian Times and former General Secretary of the GJA, Dave Agbenu and a Communications Consultant, Gayhart Mensah.

While Albert Dwumfuor polled 233 votes, Gayheart Mensah got 181 votes and Dave Agbenu had 142 votes.

Over 800 members of the GJA cast their ballots on Friday, June 24, 2022, to elect the new national and regional executives.

The Vice-President position was contested solely by the incumbent, Linda Asante Agyei while Audrey Dekalu also went unopposed for the Treasurer position.
Kofi Yeboah was elected the General Secretary, beating a new entrant; Akwasi Agyemang of Adom FM.
New entrant Dominic Hlordzi of GTV won the National Organising Secretary race, beating long-time crime reporter and current Foreign and Supplements Editor of the Daily Graphic, Mary Mensah.
Mary Mensah wanted to switch offices as Public Affairs Officer of the GJA which she had held for two terms. .
The position of Public Affairs Officer had two new entrants Rebecca Ekpe from the GBC stock and Caesar Abagali of the Ghana News Agency in the Wa office.

Over 800 members of the Ghana Journalists Association in good standing were expected to cast their ballots to elect new national and regional executives for the association but a total of 559 turned up to vote.

Related Post

No more posts to show

Post Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *