Queens to camp in Cape Coast *For WAFU Zone B Cup of Nations next month

The Black Queens will begin camping in Cape Coast ahead of their WAFU Zone B title defence in Ivory Coast next month (May).


Head coach, Mercy Tagoe, has called up a provisional 30-man list, which is largely made of up players who featured in the just ended Normalization Committee Women’s Special Competition.

The team will be using the Cape Coast Stadium for training and there are facilities for them to train with.

According to Naa Odofoley, a member of Normalisation Committee (NC) they have realised that when the players camp in Accra there’s external interference and they want an intensive preparation for the tournament.

The list contains six goalkeepers, ten defenders, six midfielders and ten strikers, are without 2018 Africa Women Championship goalkeepers Patricia Mantey and Nana Ama Asantewaa.

The goalkeeping department includes Fafali Dumehasi (Police Ladies) Barikisu Isshaku (Northern Ladies), Abigail Tawiah-Mensah (Sea Lions), and Azume Adams (Prisons Ladies).

The team- made up local players- would have Janet Agyir (Hasaacas Ladies), Gladys Amfobea (LadyStrikers), Justice Tweneboa (Ampem Darkoa), Ellen Coleman (Lady Strikers), Anastasia Akyaa (Sea Lions), Holalo Ativor (Kumasi Sports Academy), Linda Addai (Soccer Intellectuals), Rita Okyere (Prisons Ladies), Grace Ntiful (Hasaacas Ladies) and Veronica Darkwah (Ashtown Ladies) as the defenders.

The midfielders include, Rabi Musa (Fabulous Ladies), Juliet Acheampong (Prisons), Grace Asantewaa(Ampem Darkoa), Diana Weige (Halifax Ladies), Blessing Agbomadzi (Sea Lions), Joyce Antwiwaa (Ashtown Ladies),

Making up the final list would be the Strikers in the persons of Alice Kusi (Fabulous), Mavis Owusu (Ampem Darkoa), Mukarama Abdulai (Northern Ladies), El-Shadai Acheampong (Kumasi Sports Academy), Jane Ayieyam (Police Ladies), Ernestina Tetteh (Halifax), Elizabeth Owusua (Sea Lions), Grace Animah (Police Ladies), Faustina Kyeremeh (Immigration Ladies), Leticia Adjei (Samara Ladies).

Hosts Cote d’Ivoire are in Group A alongside Niger, Senegal and Benin Republic for the second edition of the tournament.

While in Group A, defending champions Ghana will face Mali, reigning African queens Nigeria and Guinea. The tournament will kick off on May 8, 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *