NPP to hold primaries in 8 constituencies

afoko and agyapongThe New Patriotic Party (NPP) has said adequate measures has been put in place to ensure a successful Parliamentary primary on Saturday in eight electoral constituencies which could not partake in the June 13th and June 27th polls to elect their Parliamentary nominees.

The eight constituencies include Tema West, Tema Central, Klottey Korle, Okiakio South, Obom Domeabra, Kintampo North, Kwesimintim, Juaben.

Speaking to Citi News on the upcoming primaries, Director of Election for the NPP, Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah indicated that all issues regarding Saturday’s polls have been resolved for a smooth exercise.

“Their work has ended and by the decision, the eight constituencies are supposed to go and open the elections.”

“It’s still a public election therefore the public election regulation; C.I.75 is the main law under which we are conducting it. So all the practices that we observe under any general election is exactly what is going to apply. Except that, this one starts at 8am and ends at 3pm by which the counting will be done,” he added.

The NPP on June 13, held primaries in all the ten regions of the country but exempted about 30 constituencies over outstanding issues with some of the candidates.

Nine other constituencies later held their primaries on June 27.


Source: Ghana/Citi FM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *