Nominees & winners for the 42nd MTN SWAG Awards

The most prestigious and the longest running awards event in Ghana will be honoured once again at the Banquet Hall, State House in Accra tomorrow.

The 42nd awards nights headlined by telecommunication giants, MTN, will witness sports personalities who have excelled in various sports, for the nation receive awards in recognition of their efforts in the enhancement and development of sports.

The event, which will be attended by the President of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, will also be climaxed with the award of the best Sports Personality of the Year for the 2016/2017 calendar year.

Two distinguished sports men—Emmanuel Tagoe, International Boxing Organisation Lightweight Champion and Tony Baffoe, Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) Match coordinator will vie for the top most award while Andre Ayew of West Ham, Daniel Amartey of Leicester City and Solomon Asante of T Mazembe of Congo will compete for Footballer of the Year.


Today Sports brings to you the full list of nominees and winners for the prestigious event


  • SPORTS PERSONALITY(i) Emmanuel Tagoe – For winning the International Boxing Organisation (WBO) lightweight title to become Ghana’s only world title holder.(ii) Anthony Baffoe – For his role in international football administration and his contribution to the development of football in Ghana, particularly at the Professional Footballers Association of Ghana (PFAG).

    (2) FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR (i) Daniel Amartey – For his role in Leicester City’s historic triumph in the English Premiership, as well as is contribution to the Black Stars.

    (ii) Andre Ayew – For his contribution in the English Premier League for Swansea City culminating in a club record transfer to West Ham United, as well as his outstanding role in the Black Stars qualification to the 2017 Nations Cup.

    (iii) Solomon Asante – For his role in the success of TP Mazembe as 2016 CAF Confederation Cup winners, African Super Cup holders and DR Congo champions.

    (3) PREMIER LEAGUE PLAYER OF THE YEAR (i) Latif Blessing – The top goal scorer in the Ghana Premier League and one of the most outstanding players in the 2015/16 season.

    (ii) Richard Ofori — For his outstanding role in the historic triumph of Wa All Stars as the Ghana Premier League champions, where he kept 15 clean sheets in 27 league matches.

    (iii) Akwasi Donsu – For outstanding performance for Medeama SC in the Ghana Premier League where he scored 15 goals (10 through free kicks), and guided the club to the group stage of the CAF Confederation Cup.

    (4) FEMALE FOOTBALLER OF THE YEAR (i) Sandra Owusu-Ansah: She represented Ghana at two different World Cups, playing for the Black Maidens at the Under-17 tournament in Jordan and at the Under-20 tourney in Papua New Guinea. At both competitions, she won Lady of the Match awards, and was recently nominated by CAF for the Most Promising Player award.

    (ii) Elizabeth Addo: She led the Black Queens to win the bronze medal at the Africa Women’s Championship in Cameroun where she scored three goals. She has been nominated by CAF for the 2016 African Female Footballer of the Year award.

    (iii) Priscilla Adubea: She inspired Ampem Darkoa Ladies to win the National Women’s League title for the first time and also emerged as the competition’ top scorer (Goal Queen) with 19 goals. She also featured prominently for the Black Princesses at the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Papua New Guinea.

    (5) Professional Boxer of the Year Emmanuel Tagoe – For winning the IBO World Lightweight title and becoming the only Ghanaian who currently holds a world boxing title.

    (6) National Team of the Year: The Black Cranes (National Weightlifting Team) – For their impressive performance at the IWF/Commonwealth Weightlifting Championship.

    (7) COACH OF THE YEAR Paul Dogboe – (Trainer of Isaac Dogboe) – For his role in guiding his ward Isaac Dogboe to win the vacant WBO International Super Bantamweight title and the vacant WBO Youth Silver Featherweight title.

    (8) AMATEUR BOXER OF THE YEAR Abdul Walid Omar – The only Ghanaian boxer to qualify and participate in the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

    (9) ASSOCIATION CHAIRMAN/PRESIDENT Ben Nunoo-Mensah – Contribution to the development and promotion of weightlifting in Ghana and the success story of the national weightlifting team in Malaysia during the 2016 IWF/Commonwealth Games in Malaysia.

    (10) REFEREE OF THE YEAR (i) Roger Barnor – The most consistent boxing referee in the year who officiated in four international bouts outside Ghana and a world title bout to his credit.

    (ii) Awal Mohamed – The most consistent referee in the Ghana Premier League and the MTN FA Cup competitions, handling most high profile matches creditably.

    (iii) Aziz Adimah – Ghana’s most consistent international hockey referee who officiated in the World League Round One and Hockey Junior World Cup in India.

    (11) AMATEUR BOXRER OF THE YEAR Abdul Walid Omar – The only Ghanaian boxer who qualified and competed at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

    (12) PROFESSIONAL BOXER OF THE YEAR Emmanuel Tagoe – For winning the International Boxing Organisation (IBO) title.

    (13) HOCKEY (i) Female: Rachael Bamfoe played a key role in the qualification of Ghana to the second round of the FIH World League, as well as her outstanding performance for Extinguishers Ladies team as the second top scorer in the domestic league.

    (ii) Male: Emmanuel Ankomah – He was the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Best Young Player at the World League hosted by Ghana. Played a key role in the qualification of Exchequers to the Africa Clubs Championships for the first time since 2012.

    (14) ATHLETICS (i) Female: Nadia Eke – Winning the gold medal at the 2016 Africa Athletics Championship in Durban, South Africa.

    In 2016, Nadia set a new national record of 13.87 metres and also broke the nation record an amazing five times.

    (ii) Male: John Ampomah: Ghana’s most outstanding athletes on the international scene, qualifying for the Rio Olympic Games and placing overall 19th in the men’s javelin competition in Rio.

    (15) TABLE TENNIS PLAYER OF THE YEAR Derek Abrefa — The most dominant table tennis player in domestic competitions and also winning a number of international vents in the West African sub-region.

    (16) MOST PROMISING STAR OF THE YEAR Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Black Maidens/Black Princesses)

    (17) FEMALE CLUB OF THE YEAR Ampem Darkoa Ladies – For winning the National Women’s League for the first time.

    (18) MALE CLUB OF THE YEAR – Wa All Stars for winning the Ghana Premier League for the first time.

    (19) DEDICATION AND VALOUR Godwin Attram – For dedication to Accra Great Olympics where he played a key role in the club’s return to the Ghana Premier League in a dual role of Player/Coach of the club during their successful stint in the Division One League.

    (20) WEIGHTLIFTER OF THE YEAR Christian Amoah – For winning a gold medal at the International World Weightlifting/Commonwealth in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

    He also represented Ghana at the Rio Olympic Games. (21) KICKBOXER OF THE YEAR Lawrence Nyanyo Nmai – For winning the World Martial Arts Committee WMAMC World Title, K1 86Kg in Germany.

    (22) DISCOVERY OF THE YEAR Richard Osafo (17 years) – For winning two silver medals at the IWF/Commonwealth Championship

    (23) PARA-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR Yussif Amadu— For qualifying to the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio.


Weekend Today Sports …with Gottlieb Baako

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *