KMA swears in Council Members

Manhyia North and South Sub-Metro District Councils, under the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly (KMA) on Tuesday, August 28, 2018, at Sepe and Ashanti New Town respectively swore in their elected Council Members and their chairpersons to steer the affairs of the councils.

 The 17-member council of Manhyia North Sub-Metro District Council consisted of seven elected Assembly members, five government appointees and five unit committee members.

The Assembly member for Krofrom East Electoral Area, Patrick Kwame Frimpong, was elected as the chairman, in an election supervised by the Ashanti Regional branch of the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana.

In his speech, Patrick Kwame Frimpong called for unity and cooperation among the council members and assembly members for the development of the area.

Manhyia South Sub-Metro District Council also swore in a 16 Member Council, with six elected Assembly members, five government appointees and five unit committee members.

A Government Appointee, Haruna Alhassan, was elected as the Council’s chairperson, after obtaining 50% of the votes casted, who, in his speech, promised to sacrifice himself for the development of the sub metro.

Both Council Members and the elected chairpersons were sworn in by Peter Oppong Boahen, of Asokwa District Court, Kumasi.

In attendance at the ceremonies was the Metropolitan Chief Executive (MCE) for Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly (KMA), Osei Assibey Antwi and some KMA officials.

Mr Assibey Antwi in his round up remarks at Ashanti New Town, congratulated all the Councils and their chairpersons, urged them to work hard to sustain the Assembly’s vision of improving the sanitation condition in their areas, and appealed to them to be wary in their mobilization of their revenue collection for the developments of their areas.

The remaining three sub-metro district councils; Bantama, Nhyiaeso and Subin were expected to have their turns yesterday.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *