Entries open for 23rd GJA Awards

Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) is inviting entries for its 23rd Media Awards competition scheduled for Saturday, October 20, 2018.

A statement signed by the General Secretary of GJA, Kofi Yeboah, and copied to Today yesterday noted that the entries for the competition were opened to GJA members working in the media.

The statement added that the deadline for the submission of entries was 5:00 p.m., on Friday, August 3, 2018.

Entries for the competition, which is open to members working in the Ghanaian media, according to the statement, should cover works published/broadcast from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017.

It said the awards will be given in the following categories, which may also be accessed on www.ghaghana.org:

Category one will be separate awards for radio, television, print & online), news reporting, sports, education, features, small-scale illegal mining (galamsey) and maritime

Other wards under the categorical one it indicated includes  health, development journalism for furthering the SDGS, human rights (with focus on child protection), political reporting, crime & court reporting, sanitation & hygiene, disability, ICT & digital journalism (including blogging),anti-corruption, science oil & gas, agriculture, rural reporting and HIV & AIDS

Category two, (print & electronic) will deal with investigative reporting, photojournalism, arts/entertainment, domestic tourism, nib special award for business/finance & economic reporting, small and micro scale enterprises (SMES) and environment

Category three include best columnist, best cartoonist (print & electronic media), best morning show (radio), best morning show (television), best radio station, best television station and best newspaper.

Entries for category four (Media Houses Only) are, Democracy & Peace-building, Best Layout & Designed Newspaper, Best Rural Radio Station, Best Radio/TV Programme – Akan, Best Radio/TV Programme – Dagbani, Best Radio/TV Programme – Ewe, Radio/TV Programme – Ga, Radio/TV Programme – Hausa and Radio/TV Programme – Nzema

According to the statement category five is open to student journalists on internship/attachment) and best Student Journalist

The category six, the statement noted is GJA/Komla Dumor Most Promising Young Journalist and GJA/Professor P.A.V. Ansah Journalist of the Year

The statement explained that the competition is open to members working in the print (News Agency inclusive), electronic and on-line media in Ghana.

Category five of the awards is open to students of journalism training institutions accredited by the National Accreditation Board, who undertook their internship/practical attachment with media institutions within the period under review.

According to the statement, the objective is to encourage journalist to pursue professional excellence even before graduating from school. Members of the National Executive and the Awards Committee are not eligible to contest.

The statement noted that the entries should cover works published from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017, the entrants may submit entries for a maximum of two categories, and not more than three published works should be submitted for each category.

However, one work shall not be entered in more than one category, entrants should submit clear original published work and ten (10) photocopies of each entry,

It added that all entries must show the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published.

It asserted that the news agency stories carried by the conventional media or on the Internet shall be considered as published.

It added that radio and TV entrants should submit one audio recording (CD/DVD) in addition to ten (10) authenticated copies of the original broadcast script.

The statement indicated that the photographic and cartoon entries are subjected to the same requirements as print entries; every entry should clearly indicate the category of competition and must bear the name, address, and telephone number of the applicant.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *