3 ex- MPs get appointments



LUCK has smiled on three (3) former Members of Parliament (MPs) as President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated them in addition to seven others for the position of deputy regional ministers.

The three are former MP for Okai kwei North, Mrs. Elizabeth Sackey, as deputy Greater Accra Regional Minister-designate, former MP for Oforikrom, Hon. Elizabeth Agyemang, as deputy Ashanti Regional Minister-designate, and Hon. Eugenia Gifty Kusi, former MP for Tarkwa Nsuaem, also as deputy Western Regional Minister-designate.

The rest of the nominees are Bunkpurugu MP, Solomon Boar, deputy Northern Regional Minister-designate, Mr. Amidu Issahaku – Upper West, Mr. Adongo Fusieni – Upper East, Mr. Evans Opoku – Brong Ahafo, Mr. Joseph Tetteh – Eastern Region, Mr. Thomas Agyei Baffour – Central Region, and Mr. Maxwell Blagogee -Volta Region

Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon Prof Mike Aaron Qcuaye, who announced this on the floor of Parliament last week, has since referred the list to the Joseph Osei-wusu-led Appointments Committee of the House for consideration.

The 26-member committee is expected to announce a date for the vetting of these nominees.


By Franklin Asare Donkoh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *