2018 World Cup Draw: Egypt face hosts Russia, Nigeria drawn with Argentina

Seven-time African Champions, Egypt have been drawn to face hosts Russia, Saudi Arabia and Uruguay in Group A at the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Nigeria, who were crowned champions of Africa in 2013, will face Argentina for the fifth time in the group stages of the World Cup

They are joined in Group D by Iceland and Croatia.

Morocco who beat Ivory Coast to make it to the tournament will face a huge task of making it out of their group after they were drawn against European Champions Portugal and Spain who have won the World Cup in 2010.

Senegal were grouped with Poland, Colombia and Japan while Tunisia will be hoping they can make it out of a difficult group with Belgium, Panama and England.

Defending champions Germany will be expected to qualify from a group which has Sweden, Mexico and South Korea

Hosts Russia play Saudi Arabia in the World Cup’s opening game in Moscow on 14 June (16:00 BST).

The 2018 tournament takes place across Russia between 14 June and 15 July.

World Cup groups in full

  • Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay
  • Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran
  • Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark
  • Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria
  • Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia
  • Group F: Germany, Sweden, Mexico, South Korea
  • Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England
  • Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan


Source: Citifmonline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *