Parliament forms 20-member Selection Committee

The Parliament of Ghana has constituted a 20-member committee to determine the membership of the various committees of the House.

It will be chaired by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Prof. Michael Aaron Oquaye.

This was announced at the floor of Parliament  on Tuesday by the Majority leader and head of government businesses who is also Member of Parliament (MP) for Suame Constituency in the Ashanti region, Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu.

According to Standing Orders 151 and 154, the Committee is suppose to use the approved formula for composition of the 16 Select Committees, 11 Sitting Committees, Parliamentary delegations and other Parliamentary groups and associations.

Below are the full list of members of the Selection Committee:

Speaker, Rt. Hon Prof. Michael Aaron Oquaye [Chairman], Hon. Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh.- MP, Sunyani East;Hon. Mrs. Ama Pomaa Andoh -MP, Juaben; Hon. Moses Anim- MP, Trobu; Hon. James Klutse Avedzi – MP, Ketu North; Hon. Ignatius Baffour Awuah – MP, Sunyani West; Hon. Daniel Botwe – MP, Okere and Hon. Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah – MP, Ellembele.

The rest are Hon. Mrs. Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah -MP, Ada; Hon. Alhaji Collins Dauda -MP, Asutifi South; Hon. Ambrose Dery – MP, Nandom; Hon. Haruna Iddrisu – MP, Tamale South; Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu – MP, Suame; Hon. Cynthia Mamle Morrison -MP, Agona West; Hon. Alhaji Mohammed-Mubarak Muntaka – MP, Asawase; Hon. Dominic Bingab Aduna Nitiwul -MP, Bimbilla; Hon. Matthew Nyindam -MP, Kpandai; Hon. Barbara Oteng-Gyasi -MP, Prestea-Huni-Valley; Hon. Ms. Sarah Adwoa Safo -MP, Dome-Kwabenya and Hon Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi -MP, Lower Manya Krobo.

Story by Franklin Asare-Donkoh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *